I L L! I N I!

February 18, 2007 at 11:56 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

So, there’s been a bit of a buzz concerning the University of Illinois and Chief Illiniwek. Being a student at said school, I thought I’d throw in my two cents. Personally, I’m pretty indifferent towards the entire issue of Native American-related sensitivity, and what the school’s mascot and name are. I always have been. It’s probably because it doesn’t really affect me, nor do I know either argument of the issue well enough to have a valid opinion. Still, I guess it’d be okay with me if the NCAA got rid of the Chief to an extent. My main concern is that the advocates for removing any trace of the chief will use this NCAA/U of I decision as a stepping stone for the complete removal of the Illini name. That is, they’d go further to change the name of the school’s mascot completely to something non-offensive like Orange or Crimson Tide. Then, what? Burn all clothing and mechandise that bears the logo of the Chief? When does activism like this stop? I guess that’s my main concern. I just hope tha the people who fight for causes like this know what they’re fighting for and aren’t just picking a side for the hell of it. That goes for people on both sides of this argument. Anyway click here for the official UIUC press release concerning the Chief.

By the way, does anyone find it a bit amusing that the way we’re going about being non-offensive to Native Americans is by getting rid of them, their name, and their likenesses? I think that’s what they did 500 years ago. Only, then it wasn’t referred to as “honoring” them.

I L L! I N I!… The University of Illinois Fighting Illini – “Yeah, we can spell.”

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

