Douchebag of the Day 2/15

February 15, 2007 at 6:15 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

This guy has topped yesterday’s performance by Carlos Zambrano: former NBA All-Star Tim Hardaway! You win today’s award. You’ll probably stay the champion for a while. When asked how he would’ve reacted if a teammate was gay, Mr. Hardaway said, “”First of all, I wouldn’t want him on my team. And second of all, if he was on my team, I would, you know, really distance myself from him because, uh, I don’t think that’s right. And you know I don’t think he should be in the locker room while we’re in the locker room. I wouldn’t even be a part of that.”

Hardaway added, “You know, I hate gay people, so I let it be known. I don’t like gay people and I don’t like to be around gay people. I am homophobic. I don’t like it. It shouldn’t be in the world or in the United States.”

Well, at least he’s honest. Tactless, but honest.

Soapbox time: Not that I agree with homosexuality (that’s another discussion for another day), but I sure as hell don’t hate the people themselves. Whether it’s a choice or they’re naturally born that way (yet another discussion in and of itself), sexual orientation sure as hell doesn’t make a person worthy of hatred! It’s particularly ignorant for anyone to say they hate gay people.

ESPN’s Chris Broussard alluded to his Christianity and disagreeing with the philosophical basis of homosexuality, but went on to say that he is also against any kind of pre-marital and extra-marital fornication. I thought that was interesting as well. For that article, click here.

In any event, wondering what you all think. Comment please!

The rest of the Hardaway article can be found here.

In case you haven’t noticed, I’m an ESPN WHORE!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

